Announcements > Sharan Rao wins 'DJ Trophy 2012'
M.G.Road, Kodialbail, Mangalore, 575003
Telephone: 08244277273 Mobile:
Share with Friends Rating: Your Rating: Report
Sharan Rao of St. Theresa Convent School has won the ‘D J Trophy 2012’ Inter District Open Rapid Chess tournament organized by D.J English Medium School, Moodbidri in association with Derik’s Chess School on 5th August.  He scored unbeaten 5.5 points in 6 rounds to claim the title.

6 round swiss rapid was held in 5 groups and prizes were awarded for 10 categories. More than 170 players from D.K, Udupi, Chikkamagalur and Kasargod had participated in the tournament.

Deric Pinto, Administrator, Derik’s Chess School, presided over the Prize distribution ceremony and distributed prizes to the winners. T V Dattamurthy, Senior Manager, Corporation Bank, Moodbidri Branch was the guest of honour. Prasanna Rao, Chief Arbiter and Guru Bagewadi, Headmaster, DJ English Medium School, were also present on the dais. International player Nihal Manjunath was honored on the occasion.

Earlier, Abhijith M, Secretary, Digambara Jaina Vidyavardhaka Sangha, had inaugurated the tournament with a symbolic move on the board.
Photo Gallery
> 3 Picture(s)
Picture File:
Please login to add your comments.